And then the little guy comes home, and you stay in that excited bubble, but the motherly instincts you have made fun of so many others for so many years, start to kick in. And it's ridiculous really because let's be honest it's a dog not a child, but all the sudden walking my own little puppy on a leash attached to its neck just seemed cruel, and inhumane. Not something I would have ever expected to feel. Not something I ever judged another for doing. But all the sudden, when I looked at my puppy with a leash attached to his neck, I started seeing flashes of the people you see at disneyland who keep tabs on their children by attaching them to a leash. I won't lie, I totally judge those people. Call me a terrible person but I think it is completely wrong to put children on leashes. I just really didn't expect to feel that way when I got my puppy. Go figure.
My point is that you just can't know how you are going to feel, before it happens. I got my puppy and he became as much a member of our household as my boyfriend or myself. I felt terrible to make him sleep on the floor, I just couldn't watch it. I started making up reasons for why he would cry. "He's just really tired...he's uncomfortable...he's just a puppy and wants to play." As if I would know, not like he could tell me any of these things but my puppy became my baby...totally was NOT expecting that. I'm the person that everyone makes fun of. I'm the one that goes out of my way to make excuses for my dog, and I'm the person who gives dirty looks to the people who talk shit about my dog. Who would have guessed? Not me.
I mean I get it, not everyone is a dog lover, I can respect that, but when you claim my puppy who just wants to play is in fact "trying to bite you", no he's really not, he's just a puppy. I totally stand up for my dog, yep I am now that person. Crazy right.
So we already know that I turned into puppy mama 2.0 the day I got my pup. It's ok the first step to recovery is Acceptance, but just like all these feelings I could have never expected to have, I also did not know what to expect out of teething. I mean, the horror stories are real people. I've heard plenty ranging from chewed up shoes to ruined furniture, very expensive furniture. I've heard of puppies going to town on baseboards, cabinets, bed frames, doors, you thought it couldn't be chewed but somehow a chunk out of the pillar in the entry-way was missing. We aren't talking minor mishaps here, these are full out major damages and the repair costs are the kind that burn a hole in your wallet. You could say that I was a little bit worried as the time for teething approached.
It just never happened. I haven't seen one chewed shoe let alone any rugs or furniture. The only thing I noticed was that my puppy started sleeping, all day long. And funny enough the opposite of chewing happened, he didn't want to chew at all, not even his food. Poor little guy, I could tell he was hurting (he didn't cry or anything but like I said I have puppy mama 2.0 instincts so I know.)
Despite his lethargic demeanor, when we got to #KODAtheadventuredog and #mountEVEREST's house, #KENAItheridgebackpup was back to his normal upbeat self. The dog knows where were going from miles away. Pulling up to their house he can barely contain his excitement. He NEVER pulls on his leash, until its time to get into their house, then all bets are off. I mean my puppy is a total mama's boy, except when we go to their house, then he's like see ya later mom, and by later I mean next time I get hungry, then I'll come and give you some love. (I feel so used).
Now, both Koda and Everest are alaskan malamutes, they have very thick, long fur. Koda is red and white and Everest as you may have guessed is completely white (clever right). They can get pretty dirty very quickly but breaking skin is a little bit tougher, I think, just because they are so damn fluffy. "He's so fluffy I could DIE!!!)
Somehow today though, one of the four pups here broke skin. #MightymountEVEREST came in with blood everywhere, fresh blood and it looked like it was gushing. She isn't technically my puppy, but there were those motherly instincts kicking in once again. I started to clean her up looking for the source of the bleeding when I noticed #kingKODA come in with blood pouring out of his back ankle and front right paw. I mean it was a bloodbath. How did I miss this? I didn't hear any commotion outside; no growling, no barking, no whining, nothing out of the ordinary playful sounds. The thing is though you just never know with #JAKEthedog. He did bite a chunk out of #PrinceKENAI's ear only a week and a half after we got him. #OldmanJAKE was the only puppy to come in squeaky clean though, not a speck of blood on him. That was unexpected.
Kenai however, had guilty written all over his face, well mouth I should say. The blood was practically dripping out of it. Now as a #furparent, this is the most devastating thing you could witness, that however, is something I would expect; I don't like vicious dogs at all! The thing that surprised me is that my puppy does not have an aggressive bone in his body, he thinks all dogs and people want to be friends with him. Even people who shoo him away or dogs that aren't afraid to show their fangs (and use them too), he still wants to play. The only noticeable trait I've seen in my little guy is that he is more like a #scardyCAT than a future #100pounddog. A larger dog comes running towards him and he runs to me with his tail between his legs. Actually now that I think of it, it could be a 7 pound chihuahua barking while chasing him, he still ran away crying with his tail between his legs. (Now that was one funny moment to witness. Aww I'm so mean, but yeah still so funny). To be honest though, I really like that my puppy has no desire to be the Alpha dog, I like that he gets along, I like that he's mellow. For me, it's more than alright that he's a lover and not a fighter, that was, until earlier today.
And when something like this happens, a million thoughts go through your head. I mean it's only been 2 and a half months but it was love at first sight with this little guy. I love him, but I don't like him all the time, especially the times when he pees all over my yoga mat or diarrheas on the downstairs rug, generally though I can't really fathom how we ever survived without him. So when I saw my puppy with a mouth full of blood, it was hard to accept that he had become a vicious cold blooded killer. I mean no he hadn't actually killed any people or animals, but a dog who is willing to get mean with his best friends, well that dog is downright dangerous and I had to accept that even if it did happen to be my sweet little puppy who would never hurt a fly.
I wanted to cry. Things just weren't adding up and I was feeling a bit unfit to be puppysitting, until we found the real culprit. Kenai's tooth was laying on the floor bloody next to all three puppies. Then he went to play with #EVERESTwhiteassnow and smeared blood all over her. So the truth was we didn't hear any vicious sounds because there was no malicious behavior. My little teething puppy was doing just what all teething puppies definitely do, losing teeth. Like so many other things I haven't expected since bringing my puppy home, I didn't expect he would lose so much blood when he lost a tooth. Now that was relief if I had ever felt it. You can only imagine how good it feels to confirm that your puppy is not a vicious killer. I looked at the blood drenched puppies in front of me with a huge grin. It looked like the Puppy ALAMO all because of a tiny tooth.