Well...I was supposed to go to Kuching this weekend...but it turned out to be a bit too hectic and our meeting got cancelled so it was basically just a waste of time...and money, cuz it wasnt on my top list of things to do...so instead i have spent tonight figuring out what I DO want to do in the weeks coming up.
This Weekend:
Destination: Kuala Lumpur, Batu Caves and Templer's Park
Lodging Plans: So lodging is easy...just staying at the hotel eating free breakfast and then off for some adventures...
Activities: go feed some Monkeys walk around the cave areas...and ROCK CLIMB!! totally in dedication to Donny...I haven't been rock climbing in AWHILE...but Im pretty sure its going to be awesome.
Next Weekend: May 29-May 31
Destination: Phuket, Thailand
Why: The name makes me laugh...but once i looked into it...its absolutely gorgeous there.
Lodging Plans: none...i talked to the concierge guy he said its beautiful there and totally doable to stay a night one place and check out the next day...I support this nomad adventure style...im excited
Activities: lay on the beach until I am TAN...it needs to happen people. Take a boat ride to phi phi island...that is absolutely beautiful and awesome from what I hear. Shop and buy cheap awesome things...can't wait.
Weekend After: June 5-June 7
Destination: Bankok Thailand
Why: A bunch of people are going
Lodging Plans: Probably stay in one of the barter hotels that we have.
Activities: I have no idea...just going with friends and doing what the group wants to do.
What if the group falls through...i might pick a more beach oriented destination...not positive yet.
Weekend After that: June 12-June 14 (which I will probably make a LONG weekend)
Destination: Bali, Indonesia
Why: seriously if ur reading this you know me, and if you know me...you know i have a deep seeded love for bali that doesnt make sense because I have never been there...but for this I am beyond stoked!!!
Lodging: no plans...again I like the nomad thing...plus you meet people...maybe couch surf...or sleep on the beach...or wherever else the wind blows me.
Activities: surf my ass off for 4 days...in Bali...which is UNFATHEMABLE...im so stoked you have no idea and i cant explain it...just can't so excited...and shop at cheap markets and buy cool cheap things...from bali.
so i asked my partner if he wanted to embark on this journey he says...No way Rachelle, I hate bali, all there is there is cheap markets and big waves...did I tell you I cant wait to go to BALI...cheap markets and big waves=MY HEAVEN...and the waves are fun size right now...just overhead...did i tell you i couldnt wait.
Weeks after...I don't know yet thats too far in advance...but my birthday is on June 28th...ill be 24...there are 3 possible destinations that I will go...1. Bali...maybe not because I will just have been there 2 weeks earlier...but its bali and that could be awesome. 2. some other small island in Indonesia that has beautiful Beaches and cheap markets. 3. Australia...and to be honest I think I will end up here...I'll let ya'll know how it goes...but from after this weekend forward...I will be leaving Malaysia and exploring some of the most beautiful places in the world.
Goal in all of it...get a tan...ugh Im so white right now its disgusting.
I love all of life's adventures...and I love writing so this seems the perfect place to put the two together. I hope you enjoy reading and come back often.
Friday, May 22, 2009
Sunday, May 17, 2009
Elephant Sanctuary
Today we went on a journey to the ELEPHANT SANCTUARY. Now Im not gonna lie...it was a lil too touristy for my liking...but it was cool to get up close and personal with the ELEPHANTS!! This place was in the middle of the rainforrest...BEAUTIFUL!! Due to the fact that I wasn't such a fan of how many people were there...I conviced one of my collegues to go on an "expidition" with me...there was a gated area blocking some elephants and wild boars...now this is more my type of adventure. So we undid the chain that was not locking the gate and walked in. I was a bit nervous about the pumba looking creatures. They say those things can be pretty fisty...they lied. The little guys ran for their life as soon as we walked in. So we got up close and personal with the big guys, it was sweet. I would have riden the thing if it wasnt for the fact that i had no way to climb up on it. I know elephants are the type of creature to help you out with this kind of thing...I was in the middle of contimplating my lil plan of figuring out a way to climb on the thing when a guy came and yelled at us for being where we were, it was VERY DANGEROUS. It was ok though...cuz we "do this all the time, we're with the international press". Haha...Some people may think its crazy...but i think life should be full of crazy adventures...and I am seriously learning that rules were only there to be broken. I guess sometimes I suprise myself too...when I was young I was afraid of EVERYTHING...and now I end up being the leader of sketchy adventures...I guess I got all my fears out as a kid.
All in all the elephant sanctuary turned out to be a pretty wicked day.
Monday, May 11, 2009
FIRST IMPRESSIONS...
Well...I havent sleep in over 38hours...so maybe my views are skewed and maybe i should just sleep...but yeah instead I wanted to give my first impressions.
It is BEAUTIFUL here...the city is so green...Our hotel overlooks the Petronas Towers...beautiful view...Ill take pictures tomorrow.
As far as my team...I think its going to work out quite well...Barts really cool. Hes dutch so I guess im not suprised...not to inflate my dutch friend's egos but it is kinda true. So far the other team WSMR is super chill as well...I think theres a good click and that is DEFINATELY a good thing!
Other than that I will have to update more tomorrow...im so exhausted...i didnt sleep a wink on the 14 hour + 3hour layover travel...and my travels didnt even start until 3 oclock in the afternoon.
So Im here in KL, Malaysia...safe, sound, and loving it.
It is BEAUTIFUL here...the city is so green...Our hotel overlooks the Petronas Towers...beautiful view...Ill take pictures tomorrow.
As far as my team...I think its going to work out quite well...Barts really cool. Hes dutch so I guess im not suprised...not to inflate my dutch friend's egos but it is kinda true. So far the other team WSMR is super chill as well...I think theres a good click and that is DEFINATELY a good thing!
Other than that I will have to update more tomorrow...im so exhausted...i didnt sleep a wink on the 14 hour + 3hour layover travel...and my travels didnt even start until 3 oclock in the afternoon.
So Im here in KL, Malaysia...safe, sound, and loving it.
Friday, May 8, 2009
WHERE IN THE WORLD IS RACHELLE DENARO
well today I am in Belgium...tomorrow I will be in the Netherlands...Sunday I will be in Germany on my way to Dubai...I know that sounds a lil depressing based on past posts about how much i LOVE it there (note the sarcasm) the good thing about this particular journey is that Dubai is only a stop to my Destination of...MALAYSIA!! So count it out, in one weekend I will be in 5 different coutries in 3 different regions of the world and this is one reason that i have HIGH HOPES for my job...maybe in Malaysia it will work out and Im thinking I will be more inclined to MAKE IT WORK cuz its worth it just to live there!!
Now my partner is from none other than...THE NETHERLANDS...I must say I am very excited to have a dutch partner...and maybe Ill be able to practice my speaking a bit as well!!
I feel a lot better about this trip as well because i already know somewhat what the heck I am doing in the job...so I dont have to rely so much on someone teaching me...so that is a good thing...
Other than that I am so excited to go explore Malaysia!!
Now my partner is from none other than...THE NETHERLANDS...I must say I am very excited to have a dutch partner...and maybe Ill be able to practice my speaking a bit as well!!
I feel a lot better about this trip as well because i already know somewhat what the heck I am doing in the job...so I dont have to rely so much on someone teaching me...so that is a good thing...
Other than that I am so excited to go explore Malaysia!!
Sunday, May 3, 2009
weekend rundown.
well...im back in Belgium. We found out on friday that we were coming back to the office...on friday. Interesting...but Ive never been more excited. Well I have but Im pretty damn happy to be out of the UAE for awhile...let me tell you I just don't have great things to say about the place. The one thing I will make clear is that Dubai is very good at advertising...and taking pictures with polarized lenses...for sure.
So were sitting here in Brussels, waiting for our ride to come, they were supposed to be here at 6:30am and its currently 7:48am...the thing about this little fact is that I could have slept for another hour at least. the lesson: Hindsight is 20/20...
Other than that I had a great weekend back in Belgium. We had a red eye flight on friday morning...so I went to sleep on friday at 5:30pm and woke up the next day at 8:30am...apparently I was tired. On saturday I went sight seeing. Brussels is cool...so much better than the UAE you have no idea. Did a bit of shopping and then took a cat nap in the middle of the "Central Park of Brussels" it was quite nice.
On saturday night my belgian friend came and picked me up...we went to his home town which I dont remember the name of and proceeded to go to a party full of 14 year olds making out hard core...we left quickly to say the least.
Sunday was just a lazy day...helped rearrage tristans room cuz he just moved...took a nap and went back to Brussels. It has been nice to hang out with some friends for a while.
Anyways Im hoping through all this that at some point we will get picked up...or else I would just rather kick these heals off and go back to sleep.
So were sitting here in Brussels, waiting for our ride to come, they were supposed to be here at 6:30am and its currently 7:48am...the thing about this little fact is that I could have slept for another hour at least. the lesson: Hindsight is 20/20...
Other than that I had a great weekend back in Belgium. We had a red eye flight on friday morning...so I went to sleep on friday at 5:30pm and woke up the next day at 8:30am...apparently I was tired. On saturday I went sight seeing. Brussels is cool...so much better than the UAE you have no idea. Did a bit of shopping and then took a cat nap in the middle of the "Central Park of Brussels" it was quite nice.
On saturday night my belgian friend came and picked me up...we went to his home town which I dont remember the name of and proceeded to go to a party full of 14 year olds making out hard core...we left quickly to say the least.
Sunday was just a lazy day...helped rearrage tristans room cuz he just moved...took a nap and went back to Brussels. It has been nice to hang out with some friends for a while.
Anyways Im hoping through all this that at some point we will get picked up...or else I would just rather kick these heals off and go back to sleep.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)