Now don't get me wrong, I liked the name. But I had my hesitations. You see, Hercules is a 3 syllable name, and kind of hard to say. Seriously, try saying it three times fast, it's a bit of a tongue twister if you ask me. I had this issue from the very beginning, choosing a three syllable name would make training a nightmare. And naming my dog Hercules to call him HERC. Well I don't really need to go over all the reasons that wasn't going to happen. But I was a bit stuck, and couldn't seem to come up with a better replacement.
And then my boyfriend did. "What do you think of the name Moose?" I mean, I was sold. Who names their dog Moose. It was absolutely brilliant. More to the plus, the bf goes to Alaska every year, so Moose had sentimental meaning for him, and I love Mooses in general so perfect. Or not, 3 days later the bf decides he doesn't like it anymore. I offered up compromises to sell this new amazing name but the boyfriend wasn't budging.
He came up with another name...Bowser. I wasn't a fan at all, especially after finding out it was a video game character. Ok some of you may love classic Mario. I can even appreciate it at times. But your dog's name is a huge reflection of you, and I'm super anti video games. He kept pushing for it though.
A week after we had received our puppy, he still didn't have a name. We took him hiking and on that hike we polled everyone in sight, asking them to vote between Moose and Bowser. The vast majority voted Moose, because it is an awesome name obviously. So we tried out Moose for a week. The boyfriend put out a veto, he just didn't like the name, that he came up with in the first place...
At this point I was very much resenting the fact that I okayed the 'this will be "our" dog' idea. If it was my dog I could have named him whatever I wanted. Instead I had to fight tooth and nail for any name I liked. To be honest, I couldn't come up with anything better than Moose. We tried Cannoli and decided we didn't like it. We tried Tiny. We tried Hercules again, nope that three syllable issue still bugged me. Bandit, Mega, Gelato, Ridge, Ridgey (you would be surprised at how many people suggested I name my ridgeback Ridge. Hopefully you aren't one of the people I have to explain why Ridge for a ridgeback is not unique at all and actually is just horrible. At least the BF and I agreed on that) Dash, Flash, Blitz, Zeus...this wasn't even half the names we considered and nothing was good enough for our awesome puppy. AWESOME? nope, love the word, but not for my dog's name. Sven, Beast, Ares, Bonus, Agent, Heist...
HEIST. Now this had promise. Because our puppy had a "black mask" and "white gloves" he was totally ready for the Heist. And when we got our girl...well obviously her name would be Diamond. Diamond and Heist, that was it. But after a few times actually trying to say HEIST and call it over and over. Its a one syllable name that's almost impossible to say. And oh by the way, no one got it. NO ONE. So we decided against Heist.
HEIST. Now this had promise. Because our puppy had a "black mask" and "white gloves" he was totally ready for the Heist. And when we got our girl...well obviously her name would be Diamond. Diamond and Heist, that was it. But after a few times actually trying to say HEIST and call it over and over. Its a one syllable name that's almost impossible to say. And oh by the way, no one got it. NO ONE. So we decided against Heist.
All the while I looked at my sweet little puppy every single day for three weeks and couldn't find a name that would stick. Now initially when I was trying to sell Moose to my boyfriend, I offered a huge compromise for our future girl puppy's name. #KENAI (pronounced Keen-eye). It was a very special name to my bf that I vetoed right off the bat, we'll save the why for another time. Just know that it was a HUGE deal for me to offer this name. He still wouldn't go for Moose.
But after three weeks of calling your puppy "Bub" because he doesn't have a name and considering every single possibility known to man, you start to realize that a lot more goes into a dog's name than it being meaningful to you. 1. you have to say it all the time, so it needs to be no more than 2 syllables. actually after this process I have realized that this is absolutely the key factor in naming a new dog. Take all the other things you thought were important off the list.
I was so sick of coming up with cute three syllable names that were impossible to call. I was sick of considering every possibility. I wanted a cute name that was easy to say. Preferably 2 syllables and something unique. And the big one, both me and the BF had to like it.
So I called the BF one night while I was out of town and I made a wager, "I'll give you #KENAI, if I get to name the girl without your input" his only requirement was that the girl's name would not be Moose, or any variation thereof. It was a deal. His name would be #KENAI. I made it official on instagram the next day. #KENAItheridgebackpup. There was no going back, he had a hashtag.
A few days later though I was doubting my decision. Pretty much every person I said the name to, repeated it back with an inquisitive look, "Canine?" Really you think I would name my dog Canine? It's downright horrible first of all, secondly, no, just no. We considered for a half second to go back on the choice it took us 3 weeks to agree upon, but going back to the drawing board was not an option. I just didn't want to do it again. Some amazing name was not going to pop up out of the blue, I had been over every single list. KENAI was easy to call and I liked it. It's meaningful for the BF, and my sister's puppy is named KODA from Brother Bear. Our cousin puppies would be called KENAI and KODA, that was cute enough for me.
Then of course my bf name drops the perfect name for the girl puppy...KENYA, the african lion huntress. SOLD. Just to be clear though, choosing the name was my decision alone, as agreed upon based on our previous conversation. And so it is. Our 15 week old puppy really does look like a KENAI. I guess that tends to happen after you call your dog 158 times per hour. I like that its original and no one has heard it. I like that it is an easy name to say (even though it seems that somehow 88% of everyone I talk to can't get it right.) And most of all, I love that I already have the girl's name picked out for when we get her and that we do NOT have to go through this grueling process again.
#KENAItheridgebackpup #KENYAthelionhuntress #adventureswithKENAIandKENYA