Monday, December 8, 2008

I can ride my bike with no handlebars...

ok...Im not going to lie. I came to the Netherlands and I knew how to ride a bike...doesnt everyone?? But knowing how to ride a bike and riding a bike without being completely clumbsey are two very different things. And Im a clumbsey person to begin with so you can only imagine that riding a bike...with 2 kids on it nonetheless...was a sight to see...and oh I have had my moments of dropping the bike, more than once. and i thought it would never get better.

I saw all my friends riding around so easily...with such grace. They could talk on the phone and ride with no hands...I on the other hand lived a differnt story...if I let go of the handlebars with one hand for one second...i was all over the road...almost having a meet and greet with the pavement...there was seemingly no hope.

Then on top of it i had a friend who loved to show off his no hand bike riding skills and I could only dream of one day being that graceful on a bike. WELL im here today to tell you that the day has come...I can ride my bike with no hands peeps...its true...i made a 15 minute bikeride almost the entire time with my hands off the handlebars...and I feel very accomplished on several levels. Yes its true many people here can do it...but when i go home I will be one of few people who has the skill and expertise to say that i can ride my bike with no handlebars...no handlebars...no handlebars...the song has a whole new meaning...and be jealous people because yes I am that cool...

LOOK NO HANDS!!!

1 comment:

Carissa Peck said...

I am jealous...

You go girl!

:-P