Friday, November 28, 2008

its FUNCTION not FASHION people!!!

side note before i start...I totally had to edit this blog cuz I spelled fashion first as fashoin...and it was just a lil embarrassing to leave it like that...but im not gonna be that person that got hit by a car and walks away from it like no one saw (oh dane cook...still my favorite comedian ever.) sometimes i wonder how i move from one subject to another...and i know i have said that before...but i baffle myself in the fact that i can tell 12 stories all at the same time...and thats with regulating the amount of stories im telling at once...amazing.

heres the thing...you always hear people talking about the wonderful fashion in Europe...its so 'European' whatever that means...but i have to admit people here definantly dress differently than the people at home. And you walk around and say...that coat is so cute...or look at that hat...adorable. Or even just the other day i told my friend how much i loved how she did up her scarf...and I thought wow...european fashion totally 'european'.

Then i was pondering for a moment...and it hit me...an epiphany if you will...duh the fashion is different here...its so freaking cold you cant get away with not wearing a scarf and a jacket and a hat and boots or leggings if you dont have boots...and sweaters with long sleeve shirts and layers...its not to be fashionable its to survive the winter!! And I would know from first hand experience peeps...Ill give you that maybe you see some way cute styles coming out of this functional clothing...but please...try and wear it in san diego...ull die from suffication.

And thats the problem...wearing that many clothes is necessary here cuz its so cold...but you still feel sufficated...i guess its typical when you spend ur life in a bathing suit (note to self...there is nothing wrong with warm weather year round...the cold is to visit for short periods of time...aka snowboarding trips and christmas DAY and the rest of the year should be sunny and above 70 (35 celcious for all my european friends...) and throw in a few rainy days...so we can sit inside and snuggle by the fire...but really 60 is fine for that...

Everyone warned me that I was crazy to move to the cold...and I was...and I have a new appreciation for home...or anywhere tropical...and its funny cuz my room is about 10 degrees warmer than the rest of the house...and i dream of warm places everyday. So im starting a habit of drinking hot tea and soup on a regular basis...cuz I have to figure out some way to increase my core body tempature (which is at least 4 degrees below the norm...on a good day)...and gaining weight is not an option people...so stop making that suggestion...especially cuz all i do in my free time is work out...sorry once a work out lover...always a work out lover...and it will continue to be the love of my life probably forever cuz i am a drama QUEEN and therefore have a way of ROYALLY screwing up any situation that involves a guy being more than a friend...but we are so not getting into that right now...cuz i could write an entire book on my lack of any sort of love life...and there it was my first official friday night pity party in the Netherlands...it doesnt feel the same without having Dave and Kam in the background being like...i feel a friday night pity party coming on...its alright though...Im happy with it. Just taking it one day at a time...otherwise I would freeze.

Thursday, November 27, 2008

this seems like a whole lotta SNOW to me...






When I moved to the Netherlands I was told that it doesnt snow here...maybe once a year...Well just to put it out there...to me this is SNOW...and it SNOWED for three days straight...everything was white, it was really gorgeous actually...from the inside of the house...outside it was cold...and there was snow falling and I know that is such a "NO DUH" statement...when its snowing, snow tends to fall...its just the way it happens but its not necessarily the most pleasant experience for much longer than a moment...needless to say Im glad it doesnt snow everyday. Note to self...never permanetly move to a place that snows on a regular basis...or is freezing cold for that matter. I guess its buckle up and get ready for winter, cuz people its down right SHIVER ME TIMBERS here...my friends crack up as they watch me put on layer after layer after layer...and im still the first one to say...my god its cold out here. and they laugh.

So today is thanksgiving...the real day where its all family and feasting and thanksgiving day parades...and turkey soup...and pie...and the official start of christmas...and Im missing it. Im not gonna lie...Im sad...Thanksgiving is one of my favorite all time days of the year and it doesnt feel the same without friends and family...To be honest I thought I was untouchable when it came to home sickness "itll never happen to me" I said. Im willing to admit that I was wrong...Im bummed to miss thanksgiving and all that goes with it...Needless to say I am doing my best here to get in the holiday spirit. I kicked off listening to christmas music when we had thanksgiving here...and Im going out today to get christmas decorations...You know for a long time I thought I would be the person who didnt decorate for christmas cuz lets be honest we have enough decorations at my house for all of san diego county to feel the christmas spirit...and I mean its up all year round...the fake christmas tree with apples (that both my mom and sister have) has been up year round since we moved to poway...I think this will be christmas number 6 and it has still never been put away...so with all that I thought I wont ever decorate for christmas cuz I can just run home and bam feel the christmas spirit flow through my blood...I LIED...I will have christmas decorations...probably not as much as my mom...but Im going to get stuff to make our house christmasy...cuz I cant do this bah humbug we only have decorations for a tree...i mean its cold outside, I wear scarfs and gloves everyday...but that is just miserable if you dont have a warm cozy place to come home too...and I want that so Im gonna make it happen. Obviously it wont be as good as the home version...but sometimes you gotta make new traditions.

And just to let you know...I have my moms gene for baking...ok maybe not as good as her...but really who could be...the pilsbury doughboy doesnt even come close. However I made the most AMAZING cookies yesterday and wait...it was without a recipe. Yeah thats amazingness. I started thinking I was gonna make chocolate chip cookies but we didnt have all the necessary ingridients so instead of going to the store...I improvised...and man was it worth it...I call them cinnamon delights and they are absolutly amazing...a lil like a snickerdoodle...but a lot different too...and without a recipe who woulda thought.

I hope everyone has a fabulous holiday!!! I miss you lots...please eat pie for me. MUAH!!

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

not my funniest post ever...but its cuz im sick.

i know all of you are biting your fingernails waiting for an update in my life...cuz lets face it we all know the center of the universe has a tendency to move wherever I go...weird but so true hehe.

So on saturday morning Sinter Klaas arrived on the boat from Spain!! There was a huge party at the canal...a ton of people...crazy how they do things here in Europe. But it was cool...very fun and the kids had a great time. And side note...i gotta give props to my dad for all the times he held me on his shoulders...and all my other 8 brothers and sisters...cuz seriously its exhausting having a kid sit on your shoulders for more than about 3 minutes...even when there 3...ok even when theyre 1.5...but alas I had Mia up on my shoulders so she could see the boat with Sinter Klaas and all the Black Peters arrive...i don't feel like explaining black peters in detail right now...so i will say they are the dutch version of Santa's elves and everyone back home can have a general understanding of what its all about...

After that I played in 2 water polo games...oh the refs in holland...you think socal refs are bad...oh you havent seen anything...note to self adjusting to the refs is really not an option because they arent consistant about anything...so just score goals. I did have a good time playing...and I got kicked out more in 2 games than i did for half of a season back home...in college...wooo...tone it down maybe a little...or just play with the boys...which I do in practice...great times.

Following the games...I went to Vilika's house...Vilika (Vil for short) is on the water polo team and possibly my favorite person in the Netherlands so far. I love the girl. So after the game we went to her house and proceeded to try on every outfit in her closet (what can I say...were alike i guess) we finally picked out our outfits and in true dutch style left to go out after midnight (this is unorthodox for me I know...but Im breaking in...and loving it) So we went to one of the girl's bday parties which was fun but decided to go to the stratum afterwards...oh my god...seriously the most fun I have had so far.

Lets call it the adventures of the polo people...we hung out with about 5 girls from the team and maybe 7 guys...i can chalk this up in one sentence...it is way too much fun to go dancing with all the water polo boys...love it...except the part where Jaap (pronounced yop...but i call him yuppy cuz its funny) picks me up fireman style and spins me around in circles every so often...he has also made this a habit at tuesday/thursday after practice hang outs...but i will forgive him cuz hes awesomely cool.

Other than that not too much is new...oh cept that im back to brown...Ive got this snow white look going on because the sun doesnt shine therefore my skin doesnt tan...a sad sad sad day...i digress. i really dont get the meaning of that saying...but i thought it sounded like a good place to insert it. Anyhow...I am officially off work...its 11:30pm and Ive been working since 7am...so basically i am beyond tired and just want to sleep...oh and go to the doctor tomorrow...im sick and getting sicker and its been 2 weeks...no thank you.

Friday, November 14, 2008

Im sure the Bahamas are nice and warm...













Literally I have the cutest nephew and niece EVER...on the entire planet people...don't try and argue it because they are down right adorable...no questions...hands down the 2 cutest kids in the galaxy...probably universe actually...and I would know Im doing a hefty amount of traveling these days!! And this is no suprise as they are related to me (ok yes MAYBE it had something to do with my sister and her husband...but whose really keeping track...)

The point is...I was planning on going to the Bahamas with my sister and her family...but then I decided to move half way across the world instead...at times like these when Im freezing my batooty off I do tend to question what the hell I was thinking...but I do love the Netherlands so I can't complain too much...but it is the bahamas so...yeah lets not try and fight this one out.

However I was leaving a comment on my sister's blog...because she used the word "STOKED"...and I was so proud to be her little sister (hehe ok i have 6 inches on her how little can i really consider myself...not the point) nonetheless I felt I had a direct impact on her choice of words and therefore have a doubley direct impact on the 2 little runts she calls her kids. And I just love em...

Ok ok I know these pics are on my sisters blog...but an Aunty can put up pictures of the 2 cutest offspring ever right??? I just can't wait to see the pics from the bahamas...and Im so jealous that they will all come back from that trip thoroughly tanned...I on the other hand am turning a shade I like to call "ghost" (I came out of the womb with more color than I have now...seriously) but alas...I needed a blog dedicated to the munchkins cuz they are just too cute!! And lets be honest Renee was almost named after me...which she should have been...but i guess the middle name "Ashlee" runs a close 2nd right behind "Rachelle" of course ;) I mean the name rachelle just has a nice ring dont you think hahaha ohhh if you know me you know Im only half way kidding but it made you laugh so whose keeping score??

oh and ps...speaking of scoring...Im playing in 2 water polo games tomorrow...I LOVE my new team...wayyyyy too much fun and i get to play in 2 games cuz both the 1 and 2 team want me to play and I can play for both teams for 5 games...which is a nice change from a club in the Netherlands (not to be named because I would never want to talk bad about someone...directly) that has way too much confidence for their own good...but thats ok cuz Im used to that...a similar situation happened at a university i went to for a short while in san diego (again not to be named)...so what happens...I go somewhere else and kick ass...I just can't wait to play them!! Sorry I know I know...its water off a ducks back...really it is...and Im so happy to be where I am...but its like eating belgian chocolate...its just so much sweeter than the chocolate at home...and it kind of tastes the same way when u deliver an ass wooping to a team of over confident players...and i said players but it sounded alot like bitches when it came out...haha if you know dane cook and you can name that joke Ill give you a cookie!! Anywho...Im loving my new team (literally this might be the first team I have been on where every girl is freaking awesome...so stoked to play with them it will be so much fun...which is what water polo should be all about!!

MUAH to you all...and i hope everyone who happens to be in the Bahamas right now has an AMAZTASTICAL (that would be amazing, fantastic, and magical all at once...yeah I made that up...write it down ull find it on dictionary.com next year) time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dont forget to WEAR SUNSCREEN!!! love you!

Monday, November 10, 2008

Scheveningen...try saying that one...yeah you cant!
















So yesterday I went to the beach...people doubted me but there was no stopping me...I needed it...Ive been feeling quite landlocked lately!! The beach I went to is called Scheveningen...try and pronouce it...you wont be able to trust me.
I would like to point out a few weird things
1. people are fully clothed with jackets, scarfs and beanies...while walking on the beach
2. most people wear boots to keep their feet from getting cold because the beach is FREEZING
3. there are ice cream stands all along the boardwalk...like people are going to eat ice cream when its that cold...but i did get a hot chocolate at one of em...so i can be thankful for the ice cream stand...side note...hot chocolate is freaking delicious in the netherlands...its just so rich and full of chocolatey goodness...mmmmm. back to what i was saying.
I would like to point out a few even weirder things
1. i was fully clothed with a jacket, scarf, and beanie while walking on the beach
2. i could not bring myself to walk on the sand in shoes...its just unethical really...thats the whole expirience of being at the beach...walking barefoot in the sand. Plus I wanted to put my feet in the North Sea for the first time...but I think i made myself sick because of it....oops.
And my walk in the sand was prolonged cuz there were surfers in the water so i had to stay and watch and wish i was in the water as well. The waves werent great but totally rideable...and there was a sweet left rolling through that I totally would have shredded on...well as much as you can when the waves are waist high...but yeah as I got caught up in my day dream with no shoes on...my feet went hypothermic Im sure...they were freezing the entire train ride to Tilburg...my friend picked me up there and took me to dinner...which was really nice...he said I was blue when he picked me up. But the restaraunt was warm where we ate so I got feeling back in my toes.
All and all it was a good day...the beach is different here...but there is something about the ocean that just calms me down...and makes me feel at home...which I needed cuz I must admit I miss surfing, I miss being warm, and I miss my fam and friends back home...but im loving it here as well...its complicated so it suits me!
Today its pretty gloomy outside...and I have the biggest headache of my life...but im still happy to be here...and Id just like to say booyah-kashA to all those who didnt think Id go to the beach...please the ocean is my favorite place to be in the entire world...thank you and good nite!!

Saturday, November 8, 2008

TOO CUTE!!

So tonight I helped my little sister (who turned 9 yesterday...last year of single digits, oh the good old days) anywho...i set up an email account for her. Side note: isnt that the beauty of the internet, I can help my little sister from half way across the world at the click of a button...thank you technology.

So anyhow we got her email address set up and she was really excited to log in and officially have an email. So I tell her to type in her address and password, and she does, but then she goes...Rachelle it isnt working. So my mom walked over to the computer to help her and the reason it wouldnt sign in is because instead of using the "@" symbol...chandlyr wrote out the word "at" in her email address...and i don't know why but I just thought it was the cutest thing. I mean in most ways my little sister is 9 going on 22...and sometimes I feel that way about a lot of kids these days...but its the little things that make you realize they're so cute and innocent.

Aww...I miss my family...and my friends back home so I just wanted to say I love you and I'm thinking of you lots and one day Ill have to show you around Europe so you can share in all my adventures!! MUAH!

Thursday, November 6, 2008

The Ring Road Run...not my best idea ever...

Alright...so this run started out as a really good idea...it was dark and even though i know my way around the city now...i didnt want to get caught in a shady area at night while on a run so I had this brilliant idea...Ill stay on the Ring Road. The Ring Road is like a circle...it never ends (haha)...but seriously it goes in a circle around all of Eindhoven and its well lit cuz its the most main road in the city. On these points I will give myself credit for creating a safe/well lit/virtually impossible to get lost route...thus also creating the ambiance that this idea was a good one...

And no I did NOT get lost...thank god...but I might as well have. The Ring Road from start to finish is 10 miles around. This I did NOT know at the start of my run or I probably would have chose to a different path. I have never ran 10 miles in a row...ever. I mean I like to work out but I think 5 miles is plenty far...Im a swimmer come on. But 10...I mean I should feel accomplished, I should feel like I just conquered an army...but all I feel is that my brilliant Ring Road Run was not so brilliant...and I have set my bar too high cuz I highly doubt i will continue doing 10 miles everyday...Ring Road Run=nothing short of REDICULOUS. At least there were no hills...that i knew though...this is the Netherlands people...its as flat as you can get.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

this post is dedicated to simon...


I dedicate this blog to simon. This picture is possibly my most masterpiece work of wonderfulness ever but I couldnt post it in the last post because it only allows me to put up 5 pictures. Not only that but this picture deserves its own webpage, so Im doing my part and giving it its own blog. I know simon will be very greatly appreciative of this work of art...in its own blog...and will probably send me gifts because of it...

Maastricht!!!











Well I went to Maastricht on Sunday...to see my old friend from high school...SIMON!!! I'm not gonna lie, I was a little nervous for the train ride, just because they were repairing part of the track so instead of going straight there, we had to get off the train, get on a bus, get back on a train...this is nerve racking when 1. you dont speak the language, so you have to pay attention to the number of stops the train has made and pray you get off at the right one and 2. when you have only ever been on a real train less than 5 times in your entire life. But no worries...I made it in style.
Ok people, you have no idea how good it felt to step off the train and see someone I actually knew...to hug a friend when you havent seen anyone you knew since before you moved, is amazing...I don't think I hug the people I love enough...you take it for granted when you could see them everyday but choose not to. A lesson in appreciation for the little things...anywho.
It was so good to see my old friend...he hasnt changed a bit...and it was fun to sit and reminice and get caught up on the last 5 years of our lives. It was pretty funny to bring up old high school memories...you dont realize how much you didnt think about it, until ur with someone that expirienced it with you.
I also got a few history lessons...I feel like that is all I get when I walk around anywhere in Europe...Simon was happy to learn that I do know what the german flag looks like...and I thought it was good to learn the dutch flag (you know since I do live here and all)
Maastricht is a cool city. Its tiny...and has cooblestone streets...and they have very tasty waffles...YUMM!!
Overall I had a great day...most of which was spent catching up with an old friend...I believe hes gonna take me to Germany soon...so Im excited for that.
Other than that the update on the Netherlands...its getting colder...and from what i hear the tempature will continue to drop...but it is fun to live in the cold for a little while. I was a little bummed to miss out on halloween...BUT the expiriences Ive had here so far are priceless..so word is that Im doing well...i hope all of you are too!!