Well what we hear in the states is true...you haven't really gone out until you've gone out in Europe...I mean its insane. First off people here don't even think about going out until about 12:30 or 1am and they stay out until at least 4am...the bars here don't close until 4am...and there is usually something going on somewhere after that...
The clubs are packed full...its freezing outside but its hotter inside than it is on the hottest day of summer at home...and its like that in every bar...and there are streets and streets lined full of them...oh and the streets are packed full too. Imagine downtown on New Years Eve...thats Eindhoven on a typical Saturday night...I can't even imagine what holidays will be like!!
A few out of the ordinary things...you don't need an ID here...and its pretty typical to see lil 16 year olds in every bar...which I thought was a little weird ok a lot weird...Im not gonna lie. One good thing though...not many people get trashed. Its basically go out...enjoy the music (every bar has a DJ that blasts tunes from seemingly everywhere in the world)...and enjoy the company of a few friends or the thousand other people who are in the club with you...and if your bored with them go next door or 2 streets over...there is an endless amount of fun here...so it seems.
Another weird thing...everyone here speaks dutch...crazy i know!! ok not really...obviously they speak dutch but yeah its still a bit weird...it was nice to have some dutch natives with me...so when guys leaned over and wispered sweet nothings in my ear...i knew what they were saying...haha. And when people started talking to me...and I replied "I don't speak dutch" the overwhelming response was..."ARE YOU SERIOUS??"...no people I'm lying to you...I'm totally faking this american accent and my first language really is dutch...the few guys who started speaking in dutch again...I just had to laugh at...obviously Im not faking it...this is 100% genuine amazingness right here!! haha...riiiiiiight.
Dutch guys hand out compliments like candy on halloween...i like your hair, your jeans are nice, youre really pretty...I mean I think I got more compliments last night than I have in my entire life...Im not gonna lie it was kinda nice...considering american guys just dont have the balls to tell you what they are thinking...a pat on the back for boys in the Netherlands haha.
Everyone asks if what they see on TV is what California is really like...I never know how to answer that question...first of all what do you see on TV...and secondly is it any where near anything that you hear about happening in Amsterdam...for those of you who are wondering...yes there is a red light district in amsterdam and yes prostitutes really stand in the windows to get costumers to come in...ill take pictures and post when I go...
Overall I had a great time. I met a bunch of cool people...which is a good thing cuz I haven't had too much interaction with anyone over the age of 3 since I got here!! Random side note...everyone is tall here...i dont know why but I think its awesome (ok I do know why...and its still awesome)...oh and yes I did talk to the hottest guy I have ever laid eyes on which was awesome as well...hehe
alrighty well Im off to go for a run!! Enjoy your day! Muah, Muah, Muah...its customary to give 3 kisses here when saying goodbye.
No comments:
Post a Comment