Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Nederlands or Engelse?






So I wanted to post some pictures of the city I live in...EINDHOVEN! All these pics are in the Centrum (aka city center). You can't drive on the streets in the centrum...its pedestrian only. Basically the centrum is a bunch of stores, a street of restaurants and a street of bars. Of course theres a big church...catholic churches are everywhere in this town...ridiculous. Nonetheless they make for great landmarks as to locate where you are in town.

I didn't post a picture of the train station...i have yet to take a good one. But the train station looks like an old fashioned radio...its cool.

The reason why I really wanted to post was to take a lil break from studying dutch. I am determined to be well on my way to fluent in 6 weeks...It can be done people and I'm gonna prove it. So far I know how to conjugate verbs in the present tense. I know personal pronouns and a few simple words. i also understand how to construct a sentence and how to pronounce all the sounds in the alphabet...so now all i have to do is memorize the words to speak...flashcards here I come!

I know you are all very interested in my dutch speaking capabilities...pretty soon Ill start posting the english and dutch version of what I have to say...and to all my dutch friends who are laughing at me because they are already fluent in both nederlands and engelse...lock it up obviously its easy to speak a language uve been speaking since you were 6. I will continue to pat myself on the back for all of my linguistic accomplishments, especially since if you know me, you know language is not my strong suit...ie...I got a 1 on my spanish AP test...if they could have given a 0 I would have got it. Whatever...today is a new day, and I feel like learning dutch. so Ill update you on my progress.

Well today is a beautiful tuesday...the not so beautiful part was having a morning off and getting woke up by 1.5 year old screams before 7am but i forge on nonetheless and say farewell for now in a happy tone...

muah muah muah.

No comments: